History of Diplomatic Relations

The Republic of Finland recognised the Republic of Estonia in 1920 and diplomatic relations were restored on 29 August 1991. The first Ambassador of Estonia to Finland after independence was regained was Lennart Meri.

The present Ambassador of the Republic of Estonia to Finland is Sven Sakkov, who presented his credentials to President of Finland Sauli Niinistö on 22 October 2020. The Embassy of the Republic of Finland in Tallinn has been managed by Ambassador Vesa Vasara since September 2022.

Six honorary consuls of Estonia operate in Finland: in Oulu, Turku, Mariehamn, Vaasa, Kuopio, and Tampere.
Finland has three honorary consuls in Estonia: in Pärnu, Narva and Tartu.

The 13th composition of the Riigikogu established the Estonian and Finnish Group of Friends on 2 April 2015, which is chaired by Kalle Palling. The Estonian Group of Friends in Finnish Eduskunta was established in February 2016 and is chaired by Mikko Savola.

The Estonian and Finnish governments held a joint session in Tallinn on 7 May 2018 to celebrate the 100th jubilee of both states. Transport connections between Estonia and Finland, digital and cultural cooperation between the two states and joint interests in the European Union were discussed at the session.